CFM - chicago federation of musicians
Chicago Federation of Musicians: A History
  The Chicago Federation of Musicians was the first permanent trade union of Chicago musicians. It’s origins date back to 1864 to the Chicago Musicians’ Protective Union founded by German American band musicians. It was a member of Chicago General Trades Assembly and had a strong voice in working conditions for local musicians particularly in theaters and museums. That organization ended during a depression in 1877. In 1880 the Chicago Musical Society came into being, representing Chicago musicians, but avoiding any affiliation with labor organizations. However the Chicago Musical Society was helpful in starting the National League of Musicians (an early attempt to develop a national organization to represent musicians throughout the United States). During this time some other smaller organizations developed trying to represent local musicians. In 1891 the Chicago Musical Society joined the American Federation of Labor (AFL) whose president was Samuel Gombers. In 1896, the Chicago Musical Society was a founding member of the American Federation of Musicians (AFM).

During the ensuing years, jurisdictional disputes arouse and in 1901 the Chicago Federation of Musicians, Local 10 was formed from a group of CMS musicians and other musicians unions. The Chicago Federation of Musicians Local 208 was formed one year later, for the excluded African American musicians. This segregation continued until 1966 when Locals10 and 208 finally merged.

Today the Chicago Federation of Musicians works to give musicians a voice in their work place through contracts and collective bargaining agreements negotiated both locally and nationally. The Chicago Federation of Musicians represents talented professionals seeking a fair wage, and reasonable working conditions as they pursue both art and a living.

Past Presidents                                  

LOCAL 10                                                        LOCAL 208

1897          James Kibucek                                 1902-1904  Alexander Armand

1898          H. H. Thiele                                     1905-1907  J, B, Tucker

1899-1902  A.D. Herrick                                    1908-1915  J, A, Smith

1903-1913  Joseph F. Winkler                            1916-1919  George A. Swann

1914-1916  Ernest Woollett                               1920-1921   Hugh Swift

1917-1922  Joseph F. Winkler                           1922-1923   George Smith

1923-1961  James C. Petrillo                             1924-1927   Dr, Robert Giles

1963-1965  Bernhard F. Richards                       1926-1929   Vernon Bigs

                                                                      1930-1931   George Smith

                                                                      1932-1938   Art Steward

                                                                      1939-1965   Harry Gray


1966-1968      Bernard F. Richards

1969-1976      Daniel A. Garamoni 

1977-1982      Nicholas G. Bliss     

 1983-1985      Harold Dessent        

  1986-1994      Charles A. Guse         

  1995-2004      Ed Ward                   

  2005-2016     Gary Matts                 

    2017-             Terry Jares                  


About Us
Red ArrowWho are our Members
Red ArrowChicago Federation of Musicians: A History
Red ArrowDirections to Our Offices
Red ArrowMusic in the Schools
©   2006 Home | Musical Entertainment Sourcebook | Find a Member | Members Only
About | Contact | Site Map | Resources | Privacy Policy